## Report of the Field Committee for the Year 1939

Of the 85 Torrey Botanical Club field meetings, 83 were held and two were cancelled by the leaders. Both of these were meetings where advance registration with the leader was required. In only one instance did no one show up to participate in a trip. In two instances the leader did not appear, but the trips were held. In four instances the leader arranged to turn the trip over to another.

Of the 83 trips held we have reports on 80, 1135 people participated, making an average of slightly over 14 per trip. The numbers run from one, the trip where no one came but the leader, to 92 at the Branchville Nature Conference. As in past years we held joint outings with other clubs. Besides the New York Microscopical. New York Mycological and Connecticut Botanical Societies, we went afield with the American Fern Society, Claytonia, Litchfield Garden Club, Muhlenberg Botanical Society, Newark Museum Nature Club, the Philadelphia Botanical Club, the Southern Appalachian Botanical Club, Summit Nature Club, Watching Nature Club, and the Western Pennsylvania Botanical Society. In addition we should acknowledge the indebtedness to institutions whose staff members assisted as leaders. These are the American Museum of Natural History, Bartlett Tree Research Laboratories, Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research, Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Brooklyn Institute, The College of the City of New York, Columbia University, including Teachers College, Fordham University, Montifiore Hospital, Newark Museum, Newark State Teachers College, New York Botanical Garden, Palisades Interstate Park, Rutgers University, New Jersey College for Women, School Nature League, Pennsylvania State College, Staten Island Institute of Arts and Sciences, Theodore Roosevelt High School, University of Pennsylvania, University of West Virginia, and Vassar College. A year ago I pointed out the high caliber of our faculty in the Outdoor University. The foregoing makes the point, since we find only a few in each institution with the requisite ability. We are pleased to include the Pennsylvania State Botanist, the present New Jersey State Geologist, and the former New Jersev State Geologist.

The Chairman wishes to express his appreciation of the work of those members of the Field Committee whose work made the schedule possible and who participated as leaders, particularly to Dr. H. N. Moldenke, who not only led many trips but served as the Committee's New York representative, and received more complaints than the Chairman did. Finally, it is evident that the whole field program hinges upon the leaders, about seventy of them. The Chairman, the Committee, the entire Club is deeply indebted to them. Mr. Chairman, if it is in order, I move a vote of thanks to all those who helped in various ways to make the 1939 field meet-

ings possible.

Those who led trips in 1939 were Mrs. Laura W. Abbott, Mr. R. D. Adolph, Dr. H. J. Arnold, Dr. J. M. Arthur, Mr. A. T. Beals, Dr. William J. Bonisteel, Mr. Illsley Boone, Dr. Stanley W. Bromlev, Mr. William H. Carr, Dr. Harold H. Clum, Miss Nellie L. Condon, Dr. J. J. Copeland, Dr. Earl L. Core, Mr. John A. Crabtree, Mr. W. T. Davis, Mr. George F. Dillmann, Mr. Charles F. Doney, Mr. Charles Ericson, Dr. Clyde Fisher, Mr. Vernon L. Frazee, Miss Eleanor Friend, Dr. E. H. Fulling, Mr. Fred J. Ganser, Mr. R. Gordon Granger, Dr. A. H. Graves, Dr. A. J. Grout, Dr. Alfred Gundersen, Miss Elizabeth C. Hall, Mr. E. D. Hallock, Mr. Robert Hagelstein, Mr. E. B. Harger, Mr. George T. Hastings, Mr. Ernest Hoelle, Mrs. Alice Earle Hyde, Dr. Marion A. Johnson, Dr. Meredith Johnson, Dr. Jacob S. Joffe, Dr. J. P. Kelly, Mr. W. E. Kemble, Dr. Frank D. Kern, Mr. James Kezer, Dr. Henry B. Kümmel, Dr. Julia R. Lawrence, Dr. Michael Levine, Mr. F. R. Lewis, Mr. Harry Logan, Dr. Edwin B. Matzke, Mr. Oliver Medsger, Dr. Harold N. Moldenke, Mr. Joseph Monachino, Mr. G. G. Nearing, Dr. L. D. Overholtz, Mr. Frank Place, Miss Viola Richberg, Dr. Edith A. Roberts, Mr. J. L. Rodda, Mrs. -J. L. Rodda, Dr. William E. Roever, Dr. John A. Small, Mr. Daniel Smiley, Jr., Mrs. Keith Smiley, Jr., Miss Ora Smith, Dr. H. K. Svenson, Mr. Peter Thein, Dr. W. S. Thomas, Dr. Alexander V. Tolstoouhov, Mr. Henry H. Tyron, Mr. J. Van Saun, Mrs. J. Van Saun, Miss Hilda Vilkomerson, Mr. Andrew Watts, Dr. William H. Wiegmann, Miss Farida A. Wiley, Mr. George B. Wilmott, Mr. G. L. Wittrock, and Dr. Edgar T. Wherry.

JOHN A. SMALL, Chairman